The Fremantle Arts Centre Print Award is Australia’s most prestigious, longest running print prize.

Now in its 46th year, the FAC Print Award presents a diverse selection of prints and artist books from emerging, established and cross disciplinary artists, offering a true picture of the state of contemporary Australian printmaking.

In celebration of Fremantle Arts Centre turning 50, the 2023 Print Award features 50 selected artists. Join us on opening night to find out who has been selected as this year’s winner.

As Australia’s richest print prize, the winner will take home $16,000 and their work will be acquired for the City of Fremantle Art Collection, the largest municipal collection in WA. Second prize receives $6,000, and the newly formed, First Nations Award receives $5,000 courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts.

Congratulations to our prize winners:

FIRST PRIZE: Jacky Cheng, Yue Lao – God of Matchmaking and Marriage, 2021

SECOND PRIZE: Stephen Brameld & Jay Staples, Forest, 2023

FIRST NATIONS AWARD: Kieren Karritpul, Traditional Fish Basket, 2022

HIGHLY COMMENDED: Yvonne Rees Pagh, Yokai, 2023


2023 Fremantle Arts Centre Catalogue

Judging Panel

  • Annika Kristensen: Senior Curator, Australian Centre for Contemporary Art, Melbourne and Visual Arts Curator at Perth Festival
  • Timmah Ball: Writer, Artist and curator of Ballardong Noongar heritage. Arts House Makeshift Publics Artist in 2021 where she developed the publication Do Planners Dream of Electric Trees?, curatorial and digital archiving at AGWA
  • Tom Muller: Western Australian visual artist and co-founder and Artistic Director of the Fremantle Biennale


Joel Arthur (ACT)| Anthea Boesenberg (NSW) | Monique Bosshard Curby (WA)
Deidre Brollo (ACT) | Matthew Brown (WA) | Peter Burgess (NSW)
Bina Butcher (WA) | Jacky Cheng (WA) | Seong Cho (NSW)
Jo Darvall (WA) | Eleanor Davies (WA) | Erica Elgin (VIC)
Taylor Gollan (WA) | Caitlin Graham (NSW) | Yoshiko Gunning (WA)
Kendal Heyes (NSW) | Nicci Haynes (ACT) | Sarah Hewer (WA)
Deanna Hitti (VIC) | Sam Huxtable (WA) | Bron Ives (VIC)
Kieren Karritpul (NT) | Rob Kettels (WA) | Hiroshi Kobayashi (WA)
Guy Louden (WA) | Judith Martinez Estrada (NSW) | Clyde McGill (WA)
Amanda Page (VIC) | Jenny Potts Barr (WA) | Karen Prakhoff Rickman (WA)
Andy Quilty (WA) | Yvonne Rees-Pagh (TAS) | Lili Renfrey (WA)
Brian Robinson (WA) | Teho Ropeyarn (QLD) | Kristy Scaddan (WA)
Marianne Sebetti (VIC) | Gary Shinfield (NSW) | Jay Staples and Stephen Brameld (WA)
Kieran Stopp (VIC) | Colin Story (WA) | Bronwyn Treacy (NSW)
Justin Trendall (NSW) | Jenni Vacca (WA) | Peter Ward (VIC)
Bridie Weaver (WA) | Gera Woltjer (WA) | Jessi Wong (VIC)
Declan Young (WA) | Christopher Young (WA)